Global Payments is raising rates again. See how Finix compares.
While Global Payments raises rates again, Finix helps you save -40% in payments.
Five fee increases since August 2025
Global Payments has announced or implemented five merchant fee increases since August 2025, including another increase effective September 2026. Its pricing is negotiated and not publicly available, with additional fees adding to processing costs. Finix publishes pricing upfront, with no annual, infrastructure, statement, batch, or per-chargeback fees.
Finix vs. Global Payments pricing compared
Finix | Global Payments | |
|---|---|---|
Direct merchant pricing model | Monthly membership fee: $79/mo. Custom pricing available. | Interchange-plus with an average markup of 0.80% - 1.50% on volume and $.20 - $.30 per transaction. Interchange-plus; rates negotiated per merchant. Not published publicly. Markup typically 0.20-1.20% + $0.05-$0.25 per transaction depending on volume and business type |
In-person | 0.00% + $0.15 per Visa, Mastercard, and Discover transaction; 0.30% + $0.15 per American Express transaction, plus pass-through interchange, dues, and assessments | Interchange + 0.20-0.70% + $0.05-$0.15 (high-volume to mid-volume merchants); effective rate 1.65-2.60% for in-person |
Online / card-not-present | 0.00% + $0.15 per Visa, Mastercard, and Discover transaction; 0.30% + $0.15 per American Express transaction, plus pass-through interchange, dues, and assessments | Interchange + 0.80-1.50% + $0.20-$0.30; effective rate typically 2.60-3.40% for e-commerce |
Interchange optimization | Level 2 and Level 3 processing available | Available; Level 2 & 3 negotiated at account setup. |
Virtual terminal | Included | Available via Global Payments Integrated; pricing not publicly disclosed |
Payment links | Included | Pricing and availability not publicly disclosed |
ACH / eCheck processing | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 per standard ACH transaction | 1.00% per transaction, capped at $10 (via OpenEdge Check Fee) |
ACH validation | $0.55 per ACH validation; $3.00 per Plaid ACH validation | Pricing not publicly disclosed |
Instant payouts | 1.50% | Pricing and availability not publicly disclosed |
Fraud detection | Included | Fraud tools available; specific features and pricing vary by product |
Chargeback fee | $30 per dispute, including chargeback inquiry requests | $15-$25 per dispute |
Support fees | Included | Included at standard tier; dedicated support depends on account tier |
Monthly account fee | $0 | $10-$25 per month |
Annual fee | None | $499 annual fee reported by merchants following January 2026 fee updates |
Infrastructure fee | None | Approx. $450/year added in September 2025; not disclosed in advance; previously ~$229 in late 2024 |
PCI compliance fee | No standard PCI compliance fee listed; $35/month PCI non-compliance fee until remediated | $79-$149/year when compliant; higher fee if non-compliant |
Statement fee | None | $5-$15 per month |
Batch settlement fee | None | $0.10-$0.25 per batch close |
Monthly minimum fee | None | $25 minimum monthly fee if processing does not reach threshold |
Equipment rental | Not required | $20-$60/month; merchants often unknowingly rent vs. purchase |
Contract term | Flexible | Typically 3 years with auto-renewal; ETF $295-$495; 120-day notice window to exit without ETF when fee increases are announced |
Fee increase history | Transparent subscription pricing | Five reported fee increases since August 2025, including a new Infrastructure Fee, a January 2026 rate increase, and another processing fee increase effective September 2026 |
Quick recap of direct merchant pricing comparison
Finix keeps payment costs predictable with published subscription pricing, no interchange markup, and core tools included. Global Payments uses negotiated pricing, with additional costs that can include account, annual, infrastructure, PCI, statement, batch, equipment, and minimum fees. Finix also offers flexible contracts, while Global Payments contracts are typically longer and may include early termination fees and periodic future price increases.
Platform and marketplace features compared
Finix | Global Payments Integrated (ISV / platform) | |
|---|---|---|
Platform offering | Dedicated platform payments product with sub-merchant onboarding, configurable fees, and white-labeling | Global Payments Integrated (formerly OpenEdge) for ISVs; referral, white-label, and hybrid PayFac models available |
Pricing models | Standard or custom pricing | Custom per ISV relationship; pricing not published publicly |
Interchange fee optimization | Level 2 and Level 3 processing available | Not publicly disclosed for ISV accounts |
Merchant payout | $0.50 per standard next-day ACH payout; $0.75 per same-day ACH payout | Pricing not publicly disclosed |
White-labeling | No additional cost | Available via Global Payments Integrated referral and white-label partner program; branding terms depend on tier |
ACH transaction cost | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 per ACH transaction | 0.50-1.00% capped at $10 (OpenEdge Check Fee) |
ACH validation | $0.55 per ACH validation; $3.00 per Plaid ACH validation | Pricing not publicly disclosed |
Virtual terminal | Included | Available via Global Payments Integrated; ISV pricing not publicly disclosed |
Payment links | Included | Pricing and availability not publicly disclosed |
Instant payouts | 1.50% | Pricing and availability not publicly disclosed |
Fraud detection | Included | Features and pricing depend on the ISV agreement |
Support fees | Included | Included; dedicated ISV support depends on partner tier |
Technology fees / annual fees | $5 per sub-merchant onboarding; $2.50 per active sub-merchant/month | Merchant accounts may be subject to annual and Infrastructure Fees; treatment for ISV accounts is not publicly disclosed |
Pricing as of August 2026. Applies to U.S.-based businesses. Global Payments does not publish rates publicly. Figures are sourced from independent merchant services analysts and merchant-reported data. Subject to change.
Quick recap of platform & marketplace pricing comparison
Global Payments Integrated supports ISV and platform use cases with white-label and hybrid PayFac models, but pricing is negotiated and not publicly available. Finix includes white-labeling, configurable fee structures, and platform monetization tools, with no additional annual or infrastructure fees. For platforms modeling payment economics over time, transparent pricing makes it easier to understand costs and revenue before signing.
What growing businesses should know
Finix
Published interchange-plus pricing
No annual or infrastructure fees
No batch
Flexible contracts with no long-term lock-in
Level 2 and Level 3 interchange optimization
White-label payments at no additional cost
Configurable fees for software platforms
Human support included
Global Payments
Interchange-plus pricing is negotiated and not published
Four reported fee increases since August 2025
$499 annual fee and approximately $450 Infrastructure Fee reported
Additional statement, batch, and chargeback fees may apply
Standard contracts are typically three years, with early termination fees
ISV and platform payments available through Global Payments Integrated
White-label and hybrid PayFac models available
Integration and customization options
Finix
RESTful API with webhooks and real-time event streams
No-code onboarding tools alongside full API access
Tokenization and hosted fields to minimize PCI scope
Dedicated sandbox environment for integration testing
White-labeled checkout pages, payment links, and virtual terminal — no additional development required
Global Payments
Global Payments Integrated (formerly OpenEdge) provides REST APIs and SDKs for ISV integration across card, ACH, and eCheck payment types
Developer portal and documentation available via Global Payments developer hub; scope and quality vary by product line
Multiple product lines (Global Payments Integrated, TSYS, Heartland) can mean different APIs, support paths, and documentation depending on which brand your account sits under
White-label gateway available through Global Payments Integrated ISV partner program; branding scope depends on partnership tier
Merchant account onboarding and underwriting managed by Global Payments; timeline and requirements vary by vertical
Frequently asked questions
Global Payments notified affected merchants of a processing fee increase effective September 2026. The notice provided a 120-day period to object and exit without an early termination fee. If you received a notice, this may give you an opportunity to compare processors before the new pricing takes effect. Finix can review your current statement and model what your processing costs could look like after switching.
Global Payments has announced or implemented five reported merchant fee increases since August 2025. These include increases to discount rates and transaction fees in August 2025, a new Infrastructure Fee in September 2025, a reported 0.20% merchant discount rate increase in January 2026, and another processing fee increase effective September 2026.
Finix publishes its pricing and does not charge annual, infrastructure, statement, batch, or per-chargeback fees. Global Payments merchant pricing is negotiated and not published, and additional account and processing fees may apply. Finix also offers flexible contract terms, while Global Payments contracts are typically three years and may include early termination fees.
No. Global Payments does not publish standard merchant account pricing on its website. Pricing is quote-based and negotiated individually, so businesses need to review their quote, contract, and statements to understand their total processing costs. Finix publishes its pricing upfront.
Yes. Global Payments offers ISV and platform payment integration through Global Payments Integrated (formerly OpenEdge), with referral, white-label, and hybrid PayFac models available. Pricing is negotiated per partner. Finix also supports platform and marketplace payments, with white-labeling, configurable fee structures, and sub-merchant management built into its payments product. Finix's published pricing also gives platforms greater visibility into costs when modeling their payment economics.
Global Payments introduced an Infrastructure Fee on merchant statements in September 2025. Independent merchant services sources reported the fee at approximately $450, following a similar charge of approximately $229 in late 2024. Because Global Payments does not publish standard merchant pricing, businesses should check their individual statements and contracts to understand which fees apply to their account.
Reviewing your options after the Global Payments fee increase?
Talk to our team.
We'll help you review your current statement and model what you would pay with Finix.