Finix vs. Clover: How they compare
Finix helps businesses understand, manage, and optimize payment costs as they grow. Clover is purpose-built for in-person commerce, but hardware lock-in, multi-year contracts, and flat-rate pricing can limit flexibility over time.
Finix and Clover pricing compared
Finix | Clover | |
|---|---|---|
Pricing model | $250 monthly membership fee, or custom pricing | Flat-rate pricing, with rates varying by plan, business type, and agreement |
In-person | 0% markup on interchange + $0.15/transaction (Amex: 0.30% + $0.15) | Starting at 2.3% + $0.10 per transaction; rates vary by plan and agreement |
Online payments | Interchange + 0% + $0.15/transaction (Amex: 0.30% + $0.15) | Rates vary by online payment method and plan; manually entered card payments may be charged at 3.5% + $0.10 |
Interchange optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support | No comparable Level 2 and Level 3 processing benefit identified in Clover's standard published pricing |
Virtual terminal | Included | Included with Clover accounts at no additional monthly fee; transactions charged at the applicable keyed-in rate |
Payment links | Included | Available via Clover Online or app integrations; included in some plans |
ACH transactions | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 | Supported via TeleCheck ACH integration; pricing not publicly disclosed |
ACH validation | $0.55 flat | ACH verification options available; pricing not publicly disclosed |
Instant payouts | 1.50% | Funding options vary by account configuration |
Fraud detection | Included (machine learning) | Included; scope varies by plan and reseller configuration |
Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | Support and account management vary by purchase channel and plan |
Monthly software fee | $250 monthly membership fee | Varies by software plan and POS configuration |
Hardware cost | No proprietary hardware required | $500–$1,800+ per device; financing and leasing options vary by reseller |
Contract term | No long-term contracts | Typically 36-month agreement; early termination fees of $295–$595 are common |
Chargeback fee | $30.00 per dispute (includes chargeback inquiry requests) | $20–$50 per dispute |
Quick recap of Direct Merchant Pricing Comparison
Clover offers flat-rate payment processing, with rates varying by plan, business type, and agreement. Finix uses interchange-plus pricing from day one, with no processing volume minimum and a fixed markup above interchange. This means Finix shows the underlying interchange cost separately, while Clover's standard published pricing combines processing costs into a flat rate. Clover software fees and contract terms vary depending on the plan and agreement selected.
Platform and marketplace features compared
Finix | Clover | |
|---|---|---|
Pricing models | Flat-rate or dynamic, fully configurable per merchant | Not applicable. Clover does not offer a platform or marketplace payment tier |
Interchange fee optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support | Not available for platform use cases |
Merchant payout | $0.50 per next-day ACH payout; $0.75 per same-day ACH payout | Not supported. Clover is a direct merchant processor, not a platform payments enabler |
White-labeling | No additional cost | Not available |
Sub-merchant onboarding | Supported | Not supported |
ACH transaction cost | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 | Not applicable for platform use |
Split payments | Supported | Not supported |
Instant payouts to sub-merchants | 1.50% | Not supported |
Machine learning and fraud detection | Included | Not applicable for platform use |
Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | Not applicable for platform use |
Technology fees | $5.00 per sub-merchant onboarding; $2.50 per active sub-merchant per month | Monthly software fees + hardware costs apply to each merchant location |
Pricing as of June 2026. Applies to U.S.-based businesses. Subject to change. Clover rates vary significantly by reseller — verify all figures in writing before signing.
Quick recap of Platform & Marketplace Pricing Comparison
Clover provides an open developer platform for building apps and integrations for Clover merchants, but it does not offer the same embedded payments model as Finix for platforms and marketplaces. Finix supports sub-merchant onboarding, split transactions and payouts, configurable payout schedules, and white-label payment experiences, with standard platform pricing published online.
Compare Finix with Clover
Compare Finix with Clover and see your full cost of ownership, not just the headline rate.
See what you could save on payment processing
Enter your business data
What growing businesses should know
Finix
Certified direct processor connecting to Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and Amex
Published interchange-plus pricing from day one, with no processing volume minimum
Accept payments online, in person, and across channels from a single platform
Works with a range of payment devices and supports Tap to Pay, so businesses are not limited to a single proprietary POS system
No long-term contract or early termination fee
Dedicated implementation manager and developer support included
Clover
Fiserv-owned payments and point-of-sale platform for restaurants, retail, and service businesses
Offers a range of POS hardware, including Flex, Mini, Station Solo, and Station Duo, for countertop, mobile, and tableside use cases
Uses flat-rate processing for its standard published plans, with rates and software fees varying by business type and plan
Clover hardware can be purchased or obtained through subscription and installment options, depending on the product and agreement
Contract terms and any termination fees vary depending on the service provider and agreement
Clover subscriptions are non-cancelable, although buyout and upgrade options are available
Integration and customization options
Finix
RESTful API with webhooks and real-time event streams
No-code onboarding tools alongside full API access — teams without dedicated dev resources can get started
Tokenization and hosted fields to reduce PCI scope
Dedicated sandbox environment for integration testing
White-labeled checkout pages, payment links, and virtual terminal included — no extra development required
Clover
Clover Ecommerce API supports card-not-present transactions including charges, customer management, refunds, and orders
Hosted Checkout integration supports TeleCheck ACH alongside card payments
App Marketplace allows third-party developers to build and distribute integrations on the Clover platform
REST Pay Display API enables custom POS applications to communicate with Clover Flex and Mini hardware
Developer experience is primarily focused on in-person and Clover-native workflows; online-only or platform use cases are not the primary design target
Frequently asked questions
Clover combines payment processing with point-of-sale hardware and software for businesses such as restaurants, retailers, and service businesses. It also provides APIs and developer tools for businesses building integrations with Clover merchants. Finix supports online, in-person, and omnichannel payments, as well as embedded payments for platforms and marketplaces. Finix publishes standard interchange-plus pricing with no processing volume minimum and no long-term contract.
Clover's standard published pricing uses flat-rate processing, with rates varying by plan and business type. Other pricing arrangements may be available depending on the merchant's provider and agreement. Finix publishes interchange-plus pricing from day one, with no processing volume minimum.
Contract and cancellation terms can vary depending on how you purchase Clover and the agreement you sign. Businesses should check their specific agreement for contract length, cancellation terms, hardware obligations, and any applicable fees. Finix does not require a long-term contract and does not charge an early termination fee.
Clover provides APIs and developer tools for businesses building apps and integrations for Clover merchants. However, its publicly documented platform offering does not provide the same embedded payments model as Finix for sub-merchant onboarding, configurable merchant pricing, multi-party payment flows, payouts, and white-label payment experiences. Finix is designed to support those platform and marketplace use cases.
Clover is available through different sales channels, and payment processing rates, software fees, hardware costs, and contract terms can vary depending on the plan and agreement. As a result, businesses using similar Clover hardware may not necessarily have the same overall payment costs. Merchants should review the pricing and terms in their specific agreement when comparing costs.
Yes. Finix supports migrating tokenized payment data from another payment provider, which can allow stored customer payment methods to move without requiring customers to re-enter their card details. Finix works with you and your existing processor to securely transfer and import the payment data. If your processor is not already listed in Finix's supported migration formats, Finix can review a sample file and work with you on the import process. Migrations can take anywhere from a few days to several weeks, depending on the existing processor and setup.
Need help choosing the next payment solution?
Chat with our team. We'll help you find the right fit.
Moving away from Clover involves more than comparing rates — hardware lock-in, contract terms, and reseller relationships all factor in. Our team can walk you through the total picture and what a clean migration looks like.