Finix vs. Elavon: How they compare
Finix combines payment processing, reporting, and payment operations in one platform. Unlike Elavon's negotiated pricing model, businesses can see how costs are structured and maintain greater control as they grow.
Finix and Elavon pricing compared
Finix | Elavon | |
|---|---|---|
Pricing model | $250 monthly membership fee, or custom pricing | Interchange-plus or tiered pricing — negotiated per merchant; no public rate card |
In-person | 0% markup on interchange + $0.15/transaction (Amex: 0.30% + $0.15) | Interchange + markup ranging from 0.07% + $0.25 to 0.35% + $0.48 depending on negotiation; authorization fee $0.20–$0.25 |
Online payments | Interchange + 0% + $0.15/transaction (Amex: 0.30% + $0.15) | Interchange + markup; rate negotiated — not publicly published |
Interchange optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support (included) | Commercial Card Optimization Program available; implementation complexity varies |
Virtual terminal | Included | Available; included in gateway package |
Payment links | Included | Pay by Link available via Elavon Payment Gateway |
ACH transactions | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 | Available through Elavon payment solutions; pricing requires quote |
ACH validation | $0.55 flat | ACH verification options available; implementation and pricing vary |
Instant payouts | 1.50% | Funding timelines vary by account and agreement |
Fraud detection | Included (machine learning) | Included; fraud tools vary by gateway configuration |
Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | 24/7 customer support available; account management varies by agreement |
Monthly service fee | $250 monthly membership fee | $9.95–$29.95/month (charged regardless of transaction volume) |
Monthly billing fee | None | 0.06%–0.08% of total monthly processing volume (avoidable by switching to daily billing) |
Non-qualified volume fee | None | Up to 0.55% on transactions Elavon deems non-qualified — applied at Elavon's discretion |
Early termination fee | No long-term contracts | $295–$495 if contract is exited early |
Quick recap of Direct Merchant Pricing Comparison
Elavon offers multiple pricing models, with published starting rates for in-person and online payments as well as interchange-plus pricing. Additional fees vary depending on the products, services, and pricing plan selected. Finix publishes its standard direct merchant pricing upfront, with a $250 monthly membership fee, interchange passed through at cost, and a fixed per-transaction fee. This gives businesses a clear view of Finix’s standard processing costs before they contact sales.
Platform and marketplace features compared
Finix | Elavon | |
|---|---|---|
Pricing models | Standard or custom pricing, configurable per merchant | Custom pricing; no publicly documented platform pricing model |
Interchange fee optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support | Commercial Card Optimization Program available |
Merchant payout | $0.50 per next-day ACH payout; $0.75 per same-day ACH payout | Pricing available through custom quote |
White-labeling | No additional cost | Embedded and hosted payment experiences available; branding options depend on implementation |
ACH transaction cost | 1.00% (max $10.00) + $0.25 | Pricing not publicly disclosed |
ACH validation | $0.55 | Pricing not publicly disclosed |
Virtual terminal fee | Included | Included via gateway |
Payment links fee | Included | Payment links available through Elavon Payment Gateway |
Instant payouts | 1.50% | Funding options vary by agreement |
Machine learning and fraud detection | Included | Included; configuration varies |
Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | 24/7 customer support available; account management varies by agreement |
Technology fees | $5.00 per sub-merchant onboarding; $2.50 per active sub-merchant per month | Custom pricing; platform fees not publicly disclosed |
Pricing as of June 2026. Applies to U.S.-based businesses. Subject to change.
Quick recap of Platform & Marketplace Pricing Comparison
Elavon supports embedded payments for software platforms and partners, with capabilities including merchant onboarding and integrated payment experiences. Its platform pricing is custom and not publicly disclosed. Finix publishes standard platform pricing for merchant payouts, ACH, onboarding, and active sub-merchants, alongside configurable merchant pricing and white-label capabilities. For platforms comparing the two, the key difference is how much pricing information is available upfront.
What growing businesses should know
Finix
Certified direct processor connecting to Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and Amex
Published, interchange-plus pricing with no negotiation required to understand your costs
$250 monthly membership fee, with no early termination fee
Accepts payments online, in-person, and across channels from a single platform
White-label payment experiences built in at no additional cost
Dedicated account manager included for all merchants, not reserved for high-volume accounts
Elavon
Wholly owned by U.S. Bank; one of the largest payment processors in North America, serving over 2 million businesses across the U.S., Europe, and Canada
Offers published starting rates alongside interchange-plus and custom pricing options
Additional fees can vary by pricing plan, products, and services selected
Strong in-person and omnichannel coverage; Fusebox gateway recognized for transaction speed in 2026 TSG Real Transaction Metrics Awards
Complex statements with multiple line-item fees that can be difficult to interpret and forecast
Customer complaint volume is notable — common themes include undisclosed fees, account holds, and billing disputes
Integration and customization options
Finix
RESTful API with webhooks and real-time event streams
No-code onboarding tools alongside full API access — teams without deep dev resources can get started
Tokenization and hosted fields to reduce PCI scope
Dedicated sandbox environment for integration testing
White-labeled checkout pages, payment links, and virtual terminal included — no extra development required
Elavon
Elavon Payment Gateway (EPG) supports in-person, online, and mobile payments with API connectivity
Microsoft 365 integration via Elavon Live Payments (launched January 2026) enables payments directly within Microsoft apps
Hosted payment page solutions (Lightbox and others) available for low-code online checkout
Supports tokenization for stored card use cases including subscriptions and one-click checkout
Public developer documentation, APIs, sandbox tools, and multiple integration options available
Frequently asked questions
Finix and Elavon both support in-person and online payments, but their pricing and product models differ. Elavon offers published starting rates alongside interchange-plus and other pricing options, while Finix publishes standard interchange-plus pricing with a $250 monthly membership fee. Finix also offers dedicated platform and marketplace capabilities, including configurable merchant pricing, payouts, and white-label payment experiences.
Elavon fees depend on the payment solution and pricing plan you choose. Some Elavon products carry monthly fees in addition to payment processing and account fees, while its general processing pricing page advertises no annual, batch, additional authorization, cancellation, or early termination fees. Check the complete fee schedule for the specific Elavon product you're considering.
Elavon's current published pricing advertises $0 cancellation or early termination fees. Contract terms can vary by product and agreement, so check the terms of your specific contract before switching providers.
Elavon supports embedded payments for software platforms and partners, including merchant onboarding and integrated payment experiences. Finix also serves platforms and marketplaces, with published platform pricing, configurable merchant pricing, payouts, and white-label capabilities. The right model depends on the platform's integration, pricing, and merchant-management requirements.
Both Finix and Elavon publish pricing information. Elavon publishes starting rates for in-person and online processing and also offers interchange-plus pricing. Finix publishes its standard interchange-plus rates, monthly membership fee, ACH pricing, payouts, and other fees. Businesses should compare the complete fee structure for the products and payment methods they expect to use.
Finix supports migrating tokenized payment data from Elavon, helping customers move without having to re-enter stored payment details. Finix works with you and your existing processor to securely transfer and import the payment data and map the migrated details to new Finix payment tokens. Migration timelines depend on the existing processor and can range from a few days to several weeks.
Need help choosing the next payment solution?
Talk to our team. We'll help you find the right fit.
Switching from a processor like Elavon involves more than comparing rates. Our team can walk you through total cost of ownership, contract considerations, and what a migration looks like in practice.